Book Review: The Furies by Mark Alpert

The Furies by Mark Alpert
The Furies by Mark Alpert

Title: The Furies

Author: Mark Alpert 

Genre: Fantasy, Fiction, Thriller, Mystery

Publisher: St. Martin’s Press x Thomas Dunne Books (and courtesy of NetGalley)

Published: April 22, 2014  

Page Amount: 321 pages 

Blurb From Goodreads: For centuries, the Furies have lived among us. Long ago they were called witches and massacred by the thousands. But they’re human just like us, except for a rare genetic mutation that they’ve hidden from the rest of the world for hundreds of years.

Now, a chance encounter with a beautiful woman named Ariel has led John Rogers into the middle of a secret war among the Furies. Ariel needs John’s help in the battle between a rebellious faction of the clan and their elders. The grand prize in this war is a chance to remake the human race.

For fans of Michael Crichton, Justin Cronin, and Stephen King, The Furies weaves cutting-edge science into an ingenious thriller, showing how a simple genetic twist could have inspired tales of witchcraft and sorcery, and how the paranormal could indeed be possible. 

Why Read: NetGalley gave me this one. But I personally really wanted to read it the moment I saw the blurb. Not only was it about a race of people as old as Rome, it was present day action which, if you know me, are two of my favorite ideas. Was it a potent mixture? Yes. 

Review: Good god. Every time I think I’ve found a book I might enjoy – it ends up becoming a book I absolutely love. The Furies is one such book. Full with characters that have mysterious backstories and plots that move with a crazy speed from character to location – this book was one I will remember.

 The plot focuses mostly on the survival of The Haven, the living places of the Furies, a little under 2,000 of them. The breakaway portion, mostly men, is attempting to siege it and rely on technology from the government and their own knowledge of the place to stage an attack. This comes after a former druggie saves a woman attempting to impregnate herself and before an underground facility is destroyed. Just to give you a taste of how fantastic this book is. 

Characters, whether they were on the side of good or evil, were complex. They relied on backstories that included all of the fun elements that books should have. There was drugs, dead children and witch hunts all pooled together in one. I was hard pressed to like this book more than I should already.

Admittedly I did not enjoy how short the book was, or how John Rogers, the male lead, doesn’t question his position all that much. However, the plot and other characters more than made up for the deficiencies that I noted.

Rating: 4.7/5 Stars 

Review Coming Soon: A Sea Unto Itself by Jay Worrall

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s